Winners of the Journalism Pulitzer Prize

Main Data - Winners
Winning Publications
Motivation / Winning Work
1946 - CorrespondenceArnaldo CortesiNew York TimesArnaldo Cortesi of The New York Times for distinguished correspondence during the year 1945, as exemplified by his reports from Buenos Aires, Argentina.
1946 - Editorial CartooningBruce Alexander RussellLos Angeles TimesBruce Alexander Russell, Los Angeles Times, "for 'Time to Bridge That Gulch'"
1946 - Editorial WritingHodding CarterDelta Democrat TimesHodding Carter, Delta Democrat-Times (Greenville, Mississippi), "for a group of editorials published during the year 1945 on the subject of racial, religious and economic intolerance, as exemplified by the editorial 'Go for Broke'"
1946 - International ReportingHomer William BigartNew York Herald TribuneHomer William Bigart, New York Herald Tribune, "for distinguished war reporting from the Pacific."
1946 - National ReportingEdward A. HarrisSt. Louis Post DispatchEdward A. Harris of St. Louis Post-Dispatch for his articles on the Tidewater Oil situation which contributed to the nation-wide opposition to the appointment and confirmation of Edwin W. Pauley as Undersecretary of the Navy.
1946 - Public ServiceScranton Times (Staff)Scranton TimesScranton Times, "for its fifteen-year investigation of judicial practices in the United States District Court for the middle district of Pennsylvania, resulting in removal of the District Judge and indictment of many others."
1946 - ReportingWilliam L. LaurenceNew York TimesWilliam L. Laurence of The New York Times for his eye-witness account of the atom-bombing of Nagasaki and his subsequent ten articles on the development, production, and significance of the atomic bomb.

Winners of the Letters, Drama and Music Pulitzer Prize

Facts collected from tagged text on this page
Facts about this page